top of page

A Five-Year Glow Up Shoot



As an aspiring fashion photographer, I always tend to invite my friend, Anizah, to come over to our house and participate in a makeshift mini photoshoot with all the resources that we have. I remember when I bought Bj Pascual’s "Push: Muses, Mischief, & How to Make It Manila", I was in awe. It provided me enough inspiration to encourage me to pursue a career in photography.

I always admire how beautiful the photos on glossy pages that I buy and read. It is a dream of mine to be featured in those or have my craft printed on glossy papers as well. Either of the two, it gave me a blissful push to work on that dream; fingers crossed.

Going back, Anizah is my go-to friend when I had this sudden idea of various concepts and setups for a photoshoot. I would send her a mood board or even show her Bj Pascual's book for the aesthetic I was going for. The first time that we did a makeshift mini photo session was way back in high school, 2016 in specific. We obviously have no idea what we were doing or where the shoot is heading, based on the photos that you'll see

below. We even went to different heights such as climbing on the roofs just to take photos. Reminiscing those moments really made us cringe. We even borrowed our friend, Bacho’s, DSLR and I swear the turnout was not that great. When it comes to refining the shots, I usually edit them in the reputable editing app, VSCO.


Sometimes, just to visualize how it would look once printed in a magazine, I would tweak it more by using a magazine mockup on PhotoGrid. Nothing special, but it really does the works.

But looking back and comparing it with the shoot that we did recently, I guess we had a GLOW UP! A huge one I might say. From using a DSLR, we now only used an iPhone and the results are breathtaking! I did some mock-up, also, to see what will it look like if I could have a chance to print my works like a magazine.


Comments


bottom of page